My Isagenix Journey: Day 1

Tomorrow I turn 29. My mother swore that it was the best year of her life. To me, it’s a bit daunting. The excuses associated with the 20-something lifestyle have grown dimmer by the day, but the maturity associated with being 30-something lacks little to no appeal. So what does one do in their 29th year of life? They kick ass. That’s what.

My plan? World domination. Obviously. All jokes aside, I’ve embarked on a new venture that puts my lofty dreams in the hands of nutritional cleansing. My hope is that these products enhance my athletic performance, boost my energy levels and (most importantly) simplify my hectic life. In celebration of my 29th year on earth, I decided to partake in Isagenix’s 30-Day Cleansing and Fat Burning System.

Why Isagenix?

I’ve toyed around with the idea of this program for quite some time. Ever since my snowboarding friend posted her transformation photos on Facebook, I was tempted. I was enthralled by her lean muscle and healthy glow. I wanted to know more!

She was very open about Isagenix and how it helped her gain energy and strength. She praised the product and the science backing it. Over the years, she occasionally proposed membership deals, however, finances and timing never correlated. But that’s how life goes. The earth keeps spinning and you’re stuck in a rut along for the ride unless you muster up some courage to change. So instead of spending another month wondering what if? I took the plunge and signed up.

Yesterday I received my Isagenix products in the mail. The packaging was well thought out and further increased my admiration for this brand. I also appreciated the step-by-step walk through my friend gave me about the products. She talked me through the daily routine and like a schoolgirl, I eagerly took notes. I went to sleep that night anticipating my nutritional enlightenment.

You Gotta Start Somewhere

Today was my first day of the 30-day Cleansing and Fat Burning System (I think that it’s called the basic system).  I’m not going to lie. It wasn’t all glitter and gold. After my first shake, I was still hungry. I drank my breakfast shake while I was out walking my dog. This was very convenient, however, I’m pretty used to consuming the bulk of my daily caloric intake in the morning. My body was a little shocked at the lack of calories.

In order to combat these feelings of “starvation,” I ate some oatmeal. Isagenix suggests a 100-200 calorie healthy snack so I whipped up a serving plain oatmeal with banana and powdered peanut butter to tame my appetite. I ate half of the mixture and saved the rest for later. By 11am, I craved my lunch shake. Whenever hunger pains struck, I abolished them by downing some water.

image2

Winston staring down my morning shake

My body seemed to adjust to the limitations as the day went on. I added some frozen berries to my lunch shake and drank more water. I ate the other half of my oatmeal mixture as my afternoon snack around 4pm. Instead of going to the gym and eating a late dinner, I opted for a home-cooked meal and an evening walk.

 

image1 (1).JPG

Typical Dinner: Salmon, Steamed Kale and Broccoli with a touch of multigrain rice

As the end of Day 1 came to a close, did I feel fitter? Did I have tons of energy? Was I walking on sunshine? Not necessarily, I mean it was just day one. Did I feel healthier? Yes. I was forced to consciously be aware of what I was putting into my body all day long. Did I feel like this thing is going to work? Only time will tell.

 

What do you think about Isagenix? Have you ever tried Nutritional Cleansing? Please share your health endeavors with me! Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

