Day 2: A Tale of Hunger Pains

Today was my 29th Birthday. I was showered in praise all day long, but all I wished for was to not feel hungry. In theory, a 30-Day Nutritional Cleansing Program sounded like a guaranteed way to lose weight before my wedding. But in action, this system has yet to prove its benefits to me.

Don’t get me wrong; I’m enjoying the simplicity of replacing two meals with nutritious shakes. I also like that the program calls for two healthy snacks daily. It makes me think really critically about what I consume. It’s almost as if Isagenix has become my inner voice, telling me what to eat and what not to eat.

Hungry, Hungry Emily

My biggest issue with Isagenix so far is that it still doesn’t seem like enough. I’m an athlete. I just competed in my first half Ironman last month and my body became accustomed to a steady stream of calories. Right now I spend about 8-12 hours per week training. These workouts vary but include a couple days focused on strength training, several days of HIIT and tabata work, as well as a day dedicated to a long mountain bike ride. This doesn’t include hikes with my dog, recreational activities like snowboarding, or even my daily steps (I’m on my feet all day long for work). I work out A LOT. And I’m HUNGRY.

Another big flaw with the system is that they suggest making lunch your real meal. Who wants to be sitting at the dinner table at 5pm (as suggested) drinking a smoothie while their family eats a home-cooked meal? Not me. I do think that consuming a 400-600 calorie meal midday would alleviate the hunger pains associated with Isagenix, however, dinner is the only time I get to spend with my family. And I refuse to let that quality time disappear.

Right now, I feel like I paid a lot of money to starve myself and be really restricted not just with my eating habits but with my daily routine. Hopefully my hunger levels subside and the system starts working better with my schedule… I didn’t even eat my birthday cake today. It looked so good!

IMG_5039.jpg

Me holding My Birthday Cake 6/22/2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

